What is the CFA Designation?
Share |


What is the CFA Charter?

The Chartered Financial Analyst® (CFA) credential is the most respected and recognized investment management designation in the world. The CFA Program provides a strong foundation of advanced investment analysis and real-world portfolio management skills that will give you a tangible career advantage. 

Earning a CFA Charter is a commitment

Earning the Charter is an extensive process, requiring succesful completion of three exhaustive exams. Program candidates report dedicating an average of 300 hours to prepare for each six-hour exam. Completing all three levels of the program takes most candidates between three and five years.

Once they have passed all three exam levels, CFA Charterholders join an elite group, carrying a designation widely recognized as the most prestigious in the global world of finance. In addition to passing the three exam levels, to qualify, candidates must have four years of qualifying investment work experience; must be a member of the CFA Institute (the global association that administers the CFA charter) and must pledge to adhere to the CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct on an annual basis. Further, candidates must apply for membership to their local CFA member society.

CFA Society San Francisco's Charterholder Members

More than 90% of CFASF's members are Charterholders. Members of CFA Society San Francisco represent the best of the best of the local finance community. The job functions represented by the membership are diverse, ranging from equity, fixed income and alternative investment analysts to portfolio managers, investment counselors, sales and marketing professionals and partners, principles and CEOs of their firms.

For more information on the CFA designation
, click here.